The Department of Chemistry was established in 1987 in the frame of Faculty of Engineering and Pedagogy at the Higher Pedagogical Institute of Blagoevgrad. In 1995 the Department is transferred to the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences at the SWU “Neofit Rilski” – Blagoevgrad.

The Department trains students in two courses – “Chemistry” and “Pedagogy of Teaching Chemistry and Physics”.

The education currently is performed  at the three educational levels: bachelor, master and PhD.

Since the 2008 both specializations have been accredited by the National Agency for Assessment and Accreditation with the highest score.

Many of the famous Bulgarian chemists have taught here during the 25-year history of the Department of Chemistry – academician Evgeny Golovinsky, academician Panayot Bonchev, Academician Alexander Popov, prof. Dobry Lazarov, prof. Galin Petrov, prof. Borislav Toshev, prof. Mihayl Arnaudov, prof. Dr. Zdravka Malcheva, prof. Todor Nikolov, prof. Peter Nedkov prof. Veneta Kalcheva and others.